Growth of a Librarian


Attend, speak, organize
September 1, 2011, 6:55 pm
Filed under: CPD | Tags: , ,

My experience with conferences and professional events is extremely limited.  In fact it’s non-existent in terms of the information professional field.  I did attend one conference for teachers, as an undergraduate when I was studying education, and I found it useful and interesting overall.  I didn’t do much networking, although I chatted with a few other attendees over lunch, but I wasn’t thinking in terms of networking at the time.  Some of the speakers were really interesting and informative, while others were . . . less so.  My impression is that this is a fairly standard conference experience – although I’m sure I could have made even more of the experience if I’d known how and put the effort in.

Presenting a paper or otherwise speaking at a conference is certainly something I would be willing to do, although at the moment I’m not too sure what I would talk about, unless somehow the topic of my dissertation would suit the occasion for some reason!  Anyway, I may not be the world’s best public speaker, but I’ve had enough experience in teaching type roles to know how to stand in front of a group and say what needs to be said in a voice that can be heard at the back of the room.

At the moment I’m still interested in a range of topics, so would be interested in attending a wide variety of conferences/events in order to learn more about the field in general.  I would probably give classification and technology related topics a miss though, in favor of more service focused areas.  My dissertation is on information literacy skills training, for example, so obviously that is one field I have an interest in, but it is by no means the only one and at the moment I am still in that stage where I want to learn as much as I can.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

