Growth of a Librarian


Expanding Awareness
July 5, 2011, 10:34 am
Filed under: CPD | Tags: ,

Thing 4 has been an interesting challenge already.  My brand new Twitter account @growakookaburra is all set up, and with the idea of branding fresh in my mind from last week I’ve put a bit of effort into the set-up to try to match this blog.  In the past I have avoided Twitter since it seems to be widely used via mobile phones.  My phone isn’t up to the task of Twitter, I’m afraid, and I’ve never thought it made much sense to set up an account simply to use on the computer.  In the interest of finding out more about the phenomena, however, I took the plunge with a computer-based account.  I’ll give it a try for a while, and am curious to see whether it will prove useful and interesting or whether it will just turn into one more account to remember to check.

RSS was the only tool from Thing 4 I was already familiar with.  I use Google Reader, and find it quite useful for gathering lots of info in one place.  It also means I don’t have to try to remember to check for updates on all the sites and blogs I’m interested in, which is something of a dream come true for me since I become increasingly forgetful the more I try to remember to do.  Having an RSS feeder has helped a lot in my classwork, job hunt, and now for keeping up with other cpd23 blogs!  I’ve been able to add and remove feeds as my interests and needs change.

Since I use Explorer, and feel that one new account per day is probably enough, I’ll be leaving Pushnote for the moment, although if it sounds irresistable in others’ blogs I may have to check it out.  Pushnote sounds a little similar to Delicious, which I do have an account for, in that it is an online way to store links to favorite websites and then share those favorites with others.  Again, this is something that has been useful for me in classes and job hunting, so I can definitely see the advantage of these types of tools although I’m hesitant to set up two if they are in fact quite similar.

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hi Erin,

I just followed you on Twitter! I’ve only been using it for a month and it takes awhile to get used to the structure and syntax, so let me know if you have questions or want some suggestions on who to follow. I know in your last post you discussed your hesitance about these things and I think it’s awesome that you are trying! I’m glad you mentioned the benefit of RSS feeds being that you don’t have to remember to check for new updates. I didn’t discuss that in my post but it’s definitely a huge benefit. Also, I’m glad you mentioned Delicious. I checked out Pushnote and wasn’t impressed, but I don’t have a Delicious account. I think this is something I might explore later this week as I’ve heard about its usefulness from a lot of people but haven’t actually used it.

Thanks,
Carrie

Comment by carriemoran

Kind of confused by Twitter already! Any advice would be much appreciated!
Let me know what you think of Delicious if you check it out 🙂

Comment by Erin

I would say for Twitter the best advice is to figure out what the lingo means. Twitter has a glossary that is very helpful: http://support.twitter.com/entries/166337-the-twitter-glossary
I have tried to use # hashtags in all my posts because then I can sort my own posts, search for other posts on the same topic, and get noticed by other users with similar interests. Before I subscribed to the cpd23 RSS feed I’d do a search for the #cpd23 tag to see who else was actively blogging. Also, I added followers slowly each week to make sure I wasn’t being overwhelmed by Tweets when I was just getting started. Good luck!

Comment by carriemoran

Welcome to Twitter! I have a love-hate relationship with it myself. It can be quite an overwhelming fire hose of information, but there are some tricks to managing it. Some days, I just ignore it. But seriously, I’m creating lists and saving searches, plus testing out Twitter clients like TweetDeck, Hootsuite, Twitter for Mac, etc. I’m hoping to get a smart phone soon, and then we’ll see if I truly get addicted.

Comment by Nicole Brock

Hi there – was interested to see your comments about Twitter as that’s the one thing I am struggling with from Thing 4! We can’t access it at work so can only ‘tweet’ from home in the evenings – but I haven’t made much progress I’m sorry to say this last week! Not sure what to say! Hope you’re having more luck!!

Comment by Law_Lib_Extraordinaire

I myself am not too excited about Pushnote. I agree with you that it seems to work a lot like Delicious.

Comment by Erica Beache




Leave a Reply

