Growth of a Librarian


23 Things
June 21, 2011, 3:29 pm
Filed under: CPD | Tags: , ,

Here I am, in the last week of the last term of classes before beginning my Master’s dissertation, and I have decided to embark upon a cpd (career and professional development) exercise.  Why?  Too much time on my hands is obviously not the answer, but I suppose I am looking forward to the challenge.

This certainly feels like something one should attempt while a student.  Although I have worked in libraries off and on for four years now, and am half way through a Masters in Information Studies, I still feel like a newcomer to the field.  Maybe it takes five to ten years to settle in, or maybe it’s just taking me awhile because my experience is international and pretty scattered.  Whatever the reason, I am looking forward to the opportunity to do a little networking and find out a bit more about what this field called librarianship means for me as an individual and to others who are already working in the area.

In terms of where I want my career to go, that’s pretty open at the moment, although I have just been offered a job in a law library for after I graduate (huzzah!), but I don’t want to jinx it by talking about it before it’s all official!!

As for blogging, this is something I’ve done a little before, mostly for class and to keep friends and family at home updated about my travels.  This is my first attempt at writing a blog where I am intentionally opening it up for complete strangers to read, and I feel a bit nervous about that!

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I have similar feeling about opening up my blog to everyone… I hope Thing 3 might make me feel a bit more confident. Good luck! 🙂

Comment by learningdutch

I think you might have a point about settling in to the library world. I have been working in libraries for nine years and only just about feel like I belong there rather than a little girl playing dress up!

Good luck with the programme and congratulations on the job offer!

Comment by clairesewell

Our circumstances are similar, I’m finishing up my second year in my Masters and I’m also pressed for time. I think most of us who are not seasoned bloggers are not so confident hoping that all that will change at the end of the program.

Comment by Erica Beache

Our circumstances are similar, I’m finishing up my second year in my Masters and I’m also pressed for time. I think most of us who are not seasoned bloggers are not so confident hoping that all that will change at the end of the program. My blog is Trinidad Librarian over at Blogger http://trinilibrarian.blogspot.com/

Comment by Erica Beache

I’m looking forward to reading your stuff. Brighton University has a good contingent of bloggers in this thing, so hooray for that.

Comment by Joseph Norwood

Just wanted to say hello. Hope your dissertation goes well (I’m currently working on my Librarianship dissertation as well). Look forward to reading more….

Comment by Lucy Librarian

Welcome to the blogosphere! I totally understand what you mean about how nerve-wracking it can be to open this sort of thing up for all and sundry to read, but hopefully you’ll find it rewarding enough for the nerves to disappear after a while 🙂

Good luck with your dissertation, and congratulations on the job offer! I started my blog when I was still in library school too, and did have moments when I wondered why on earth I was starting off something like that when I had so much to do already… Usually managed to find time for it though, and actually I found it quite a nice diversion from doing solely course-related work.

Comment by woodsiegirl




Leave a Reply

